« Back
The Role of K13 in Artemisinin Resistance
Poster Title: The Role of K13 in Artemisinin Resistance
Submitted on 08 Feb 2018
Author(s): Justin Gibbons
Affiliations: University of South Florida
This poster was presented at USF Research Day 2018
Poster Views: 604
View poster »

Poster Information
Abstract: Artemisinins are a key component of the combination therapy used to treat malaria. Plasmodium falciparum, the causative agent of the most deadly from of malaria is evolving resistance to artemisinins. The decreased effectiveness of artemisinins increases the probability of resistance to the partner drugs as well; risking total treatment failure which would result in thousands more deaths a year. The gene shown to have the largest affect in modulating resistance is K13. Here we present an RNA-seq study on an isogenic mutant with a dysregulated K13 gene that provides evidence that K13 is involved in regulating DNA replication and repair.Summary: Plasmodium falciparum is evolving resistance to Artemisinin Combination Therapy. The gene with the strongest association with resistance is K13. K13 is an ortholog of the well characterized transcriptional regulator Keap1. In this work we transcriptionally characterized a mutant with a transposon inserted in the K13 promoter region which results in dysregulation of K13 at 2 points of the intraerythrocytic cycle of the life-cycle to identify the processes regulated by K13.Report abuse »
Ask the author a question about this poster.
Ask a Question »

Creative Commons

Related Posters

How to explore cancer related mutations using NGS
CD Genomics

Acknowledging Climate Change
Skender Capani

Is There an Association Between H. pylori infection and MALT lymphoma development ?!

automated, low-cost, miniaturized RNA-Seqand DNAseqlibrary preps
SrimeenakshiSrinivasan2, PaymanehMalihi3, Peter De Hoff2, Tiffany Herrero2, To Cuong2, Joby Jenkins1, Louise Laurent2, James Hicks3, Peter Kuhn3

miniaturization and automation of CEL-Seq2 and SMART-Seq2 using the mosquito liquid handler
Josip Herman1, Jon Penterman2, Sagar1, Andreas Diefenbach3, Antigoni Triantafyllopoulou4, Anne F. Hammerstein5, Joby Jenkins5, Dominic GrĂ¼n1, Stuart S. Levine2 and Klaus Hentrich5